Boys Varsity Wrestling · The Spartan Empire Strikes Back!

The NWOC championship made its way home to Sparta on a snowy Friday night in Scappoose.  Hillsboro dominated the district championship weekend that was condensed to one day due to weather concerns.  The champion Spartans scored 341.5 team points to out distance second place Milwaukie’s 288.5 and ruin the Mustangs hope of defending their 2018 title. The next closest team was St. Helens with 244.5 points. Hillsboro’s return to glory was led by 8 championship finalists, four of which brought home the gold medal.  120 Damon Chavez was the Spartans first champion going 4-0 and upsetting the number one seed Tristin Buchanan of St. Helens 3-2 in a close title match. The next champion was 132 Cole Siemon who went 3-0 including an aggressive :56 pin of Scappoose’s Colton Frates in the final. Following Siemon as champion was 160 Nick Peterson. Peterson was the lone Spartan to win a title in 2018 and made a back to back championship with a 4-0 record finalized by a dismantling of Milwaukie’s Korbyn Amundson that ended in a fall.  The final Spartan champion was 220 Trevor Schubmehl. Schubmehl showed that there was nobody who could touch him as he finished with a perfect 3-0 record capped off with a first round pin of Wilsonville’s Noah Ochs in the first period of the championship match.  Four other Spartans just fell short of gold, 106 Ayana Medina, 126 Tristin Keffer, 145 Jayden Strickland, and 182 Chris Day. The four of them placed second.  Five others finished with only one loss after winning their final match. Placing third were 120 Josh Smith, 126 Ralphy Medina, 145 Scott Ellis, 152 Adonai Peraza Nava, and 195 Darrius Walker. The top four wrestlers qualify for the state championships. The final Spartan to qualify was 138 Jackson Godsey finishing 4th.  However four more Hillsboro wrestlers made the podium, 113 Leo Contreras, 132 Brandon Schubmehl, and 285 Andy Garcia placed 5th while 170 Jackson Price was 6th.  After a long day of wrestling the Spartan wrestlers were thrilled to bring home team championship and even more swag was added. 132 Cole Siemon was voted as the NWOC lower weight wrestler of the year and teammate 160 Nick Peterson was voted NWOC upper weight wrestler of year giving the Spartans a clean sweep of all the hardware. Other fun facts a. Siemon and Peterson become the first 4x state qualifiers from HilHi since Mike Rodriguez in 2011. B. Tristin Keffer notched his 100th career victory becoming only the sixth Spartan in history to achieve that feat by his junior year.  Next up is the big time, the show, the state championship tournament at the Memorial Coliseum in Portland on 2/22 and 2/23. Hillsboro district records:

106 Ayana Medina 2-1 second

106 Jena Winkler 0-2

113 Leo Contreras 2-2 fifth

113 Ketelin Eder 0-2

120 Damon Chavez 4-0 Champion

120 Josh Smith 3-1 third

126 Tristin Keffer 2-1 second

126 Ralphy Medina 3-1 third

132 Brandon Schubmehl 2-2 fifth

132 Cole Siemon 3-0 champion

138 Jackson Godsey 3-2 fourth

145 Scott Ellis 3-1 third

145 Jayden Strickland 3-1 second

152 Adonai Peraza Nava 3-1 third

152 Sean Ellis 1-2

160 Nick Peterson 4-0 champion

160 Rebekah Hoover 0-2

170 Ervin Davila 0-2

170 Jackson Price 2-3 sixth

182 Chris Day 2-1 second

182 Bailey Heidrick 0-2

195 Darrius Walker 3-1 third

195 Judah Stanley 0-2

220 Trevor Schubmehl 3-0 champion

285 Andy Garcia 2-3 fifth

285 Tony Jenkins 0-2